The grand finale of the Edo State 2018 closing ceremony resumed with the female secondary school championship final. 2 female umpires were assigned by the state ACUSN Chapter in the persons of Agharese Okooboh and Omoye Asika. After much consultation with the coaches and organizers of the championship, it was agreed that a selected sides from the best in Ekpoma should play a selected side from the best in Benin.

Team Ekpoma coached by Christopher Okhide, won the toss and elected to bat first scoring a total of 86 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in 10 overs.

In the second innings, team Benin team coached by Efosa Aghahowa chased down the score to record a total of 87 runs for the loss of 4 wickets in 9.2 overs.

Team Benin won by 6 wickets to emerged champions of the tournament.


The Second game of the day was the senior boys all start selected sides with team A representing the Chairman’s 11 and Team B representing the President’s 11.

The first over to indicate the official close to the 2018 Edo State Cricket season was delivered by the State Cricket Association Chairman, Mr Uyi Akpata to the Vice Chairman Barr. Abraham Oviawe.

It was a day where bowling dominated proceedings as chairman’s 11 won the toss and elected to bat first scoring a total of 46 runs all out in 10 overs.

President’s 11 chased down the score very quickly in the 7th over to record 47 runs for the loss of 5 wickets.

Highlights of the ceremony were the award presentation to deserving teams, clubs, schools and individuals.

Special Guests present include

  1. Mr Uyi Akpata (Chairman Edo State Cricket Association)
  2. Mr …………………(Representative, Templars League Sponsor)
  3. Mr Charity………(Deputy director Technical, Edo State Sports council)
  4. Mr Tonye Timinadi (National Development Manager South NCF)
  5. Musa Ehizoje (Public Relations Officer NCF)
  6. Mrs…………………..(Principal Edo Boys High School Junior)
  7. …………………..(Principal Edo Boys High School, Senior)
  8. Members of the Press and lots more.


  • Winner’s trophy/medals————————————–Scholars Imperial Secondary School
  • Runner Up Trophy/medals———————————–Ujueolen Grammar School
  • Best Bowler——————————————————Endurance Omokaro
  • Best Batter——————————————————-Esiegbe Favor
  • MVP—————————————————————Esiegbe Favor


  • Winners trophy/medals—————————————Scholars Imperial college
  • Runners up trophy/medal————————————Edo Boys High School
  • Batsman of the series——————————————–Godsent Akhigbe
  • Bowler of the series———————————————-Useni Prosper
  • Fielder of the series———————————————-Salau Salim
  • MVP——————————————————————Salau Salim
  • Best Behaved——————————————————Kelly Aibangbee


  • Winners trophy————————————————–Integrity Force CC
  • Runners up trophy———————————————Crusader CC
  • Third place trophy———————————————-No-limit CC
  • Batsman of the series——————————————Ovie Osuaso
  • Bowler of the series——————————————–Aho Peter
  • MVP—————————————————————-Aho Peter

The Final stage of the closing ceremony was the donation by the Edo State Cricket Association Chairman Mr. Uyi Akpata of 6 junior kit bags to the various schools in Benin and Ekpoma and a cash donation to all the schools that Cricket have been introduced in Edo State.

Vote of thanks and closing remarks was rendered by the State Chairman to bring the ceremony to an end.