• Regal Secondary School, Nri, Anambra state wins the tournament by 36 runs.
  • Chiemelie Udekwe of Regal Secondary School wins player of the tournament
  • Tournament followed by over 439 people online with CricHeros.



The Peter Umeadi Foundation’s Anambra State Secondary School Cricket Championship for Obiora Odinye Cup finished in grand style on Saturday, May 25th 2019, as Regal Secondary School won Bishop Crowther Seminary, Awka by 36 runs at Comprehensive secondary school, Nawfia, Anambra state, Nigeria.


Participating schools in the tournament include:

  • Bishop Crowther Seminary, Awka.
  • Comprehensive Secondary School, Nawfia.
  • Regal Secondary School, Nri.

In the final match, which attracted 153 live views on CricHeros, Bishop Crowther Seminary won the toss and elected to field as Regal Secondary School scored 83 runs all out in 13.2 overs in the 1st innings.


In the second innings, Bishop Crowther was stopped at a meager 47 runs all out in 9.4 overs. Regal Secondary School won the match by 36 runs to be crowned champions.


Highlights of the closing ceremony included the presentation of the tournament trophy and cash prices to the champions as well as the presentation of plaques to the teams. Also, the South East Regional Development Officer, Mr. Charles Obasi presented his special gift of costumed T-shirts and caps to deserving boys in the tournament.



Dignitaries that graced the occasion included, the octogenarian immediate past principal of Bishop Crowther Seminary and the Vice Chairman of Anambra State Cricket Association, Sir Victor Obidike, the South East Regional Development Officer for Nigeria Cricket Federation, Mr. Charles Obasi, the principal of Regal Secondary School, Nawfia, Mr. Ulunnachi, the Vice Principal of Regal Secondary School, Nri, Mrs. Ngozi Iguh, the secretary of Anambra state cricket, Mr. Osita, the principal of Bishop Crowther Seminary ably represented by Mr. Mmadumelu amongst other cricket stakeholders and aficionados.


The day ended with group photographs in the midst of jubilation from the 2019 champions.

All matches scored on CricHeros. Follow here.,-NIGERIA.