The Nigeria Cricket Federation has announced the final Women’s list that will be participating at the ICC Women’s T-20 World Cup Africa Qualifier, scheduled to take place from 7th – 20th September 2021 in Botswana.

A total of 20 ladies were invited to camp which took place in Benin City, and was later pruned to 14 players that will make up the final squad selected for the tournament. The team is a blend of experience and young players with some adjustment from the last team that participated in the Kwibuka tournament in Rwanda.

In the absence of Samantha Agazuma who is still recovering from a knee surgery after the unfortunate injury in Rwanda, longest serving player Blessing Etim returns as Captain to be assisted by Omonye Asika. Other experienced lieutenants include Agatha Obulor, Salome Sunday, Esther Sandy, Joy Efosa, and Mary Desmond all making the cut. The only centurion in the history of Women’s Cricket in Nigeria, Lucky Piety also finds a spot in the team making her the youngest player at age 14; to ever wear the prestigious Green and Yellow colors of the Country after being illegible to play during the last tournament in Rwanda.

Final List of Players

1. Etim Blessing (Captain)
2. Asika Omonye (V.Captain)
3. Obulor Agatha
4. Abdulquadri Taiwo
5. Samson Rachael
6. Abdulquadri Kehinde
7. Igbobie Abigail
8. Sunday Salome
9. Imimole Miracle
10. Chinyenum George

Others Include;

11. Desmond Mary
12. Sandy Esther
13. Efosa Joy
14. Lucky Piety

Nigeria will open their group B’ fixture against West Africa rivals Sierra Leone on Thursday 9th September and tournament favorites Namibia on Friday 10th September. Other opponents in the group are Uganda and Cameroon.