The 4th edition of the Templars secondary school boys cricket competition began on Monday 23rd of May 2022, featuring ten schools from Benin City and one school from Ekpoma in Edo state.

Three new schools were added to the eight schools that featured in the last edition of the competition with over 170 participants in the competition.

The schools were seeded into three groups. Group A comprised of Ambrose Alli University Secondary School (Ekpoma), Ohonre Grammar School, Evbareke Secondary School and Army Day Secondary School.
Group B comprised of Edo Boys High School, Continental Group of Schools, Edokpolor Grammar School and St. David Mixed Secondary School.
Group C comprised of Edo College, Government Science and Technical College, Christlike Secondary School(IDP).

A round-robin format was played and Ohonre Grammar School emerged winner from group A, Edo Boys High School from group B, Government Science and Technical College from group C and the Christlike Secondary School(top runner up)also from group C to play the semifinals and finals.

Ohonre grammar school won the first semifinal match against Christlike secondary school to proceed to the finals and Edo boys high school defeated Government science and technical college in the second semifinal match.

Government science and technical college came third after a 10 wickets victory against Christlike Secondary School (IDP camp) and Edo boys high school emerged winner of the Templars competition for the first time with a 6 wickets win against Ohonre grammar school.