The dream of successfully starting a secondary school cricket championship in Abuja came to reality on the 22nd of February 2020 at the Cricket Oval, package B’ M.K.O Abiola Stadium. Eight Female and 6 male schools took part in the event.

The competition which has been in the pipeline for months came to light when schools began to arrive and taking positions around the pitch with good music in the background to light up the atmosphere.

All schools arrived according to schedule, fixtures announced and group photographs taken. Games began around 10 am with the pitch divided into 4 to ensure games went on at the same time.

The schools that participated are;

  1. SOS Hermann Gmeiner Secondary School, Gwagwalada (Male & Female)
  2. Government Science Secondary School Pykasa/ Maitama (Male & Female)
  3. Government Secondary School Karu (Male & Female)
  4. Government Secondary School, Tudun-wada (Male & Female)
  5. Government Secondary School Garki (Male & Female)
  6. Javino model School, Guaraka (Female)
  7. Government Girls Science Secondary School Kuje (Female)
  8. Louisville Girls Secondary School, Gwagwalada (Female)


After the group games in the female category, the stage for the semi-finals was set as Javino Model School Suleja, battled with Government Secondary School in the first semi-finals, while Government Secondary School Karu battled against Government Science Secondary School Pykasa, Maitama.

Javino Model School and Government Secondary School Karu, both triumphed to set up a mouthwatering finals.

Government Science Secondary School Pyakasa Maitama, emerged 3rd place winner.


The finals of the girls’ category witnessed twist and turns with nerves hitting the highest limits. Javino model won the toss and elected to bat first scoring 42 runs for the loss of 3 wickets in 4 overs.

In the second innings, Government Secondary School Karun fought hard and fell agonizingly short of the required total to record 41 runs for the loss of 1 wicket in 4 overs.

Javino Model School won by 1 run and crowned champions



In the male category, Government Secondary School Karu faced off against Government Secondary School Garki in the first Semi Final while Government secondary school Pykasa played against SOS Schools Gwagwalada in the second Semi Final. For the second time, Government Secodary School Karu emerged in the final to play against Government Secondary School Pyakasa, Maitama.

Government Secondary School Garki, won the 3rd place price.



Government Secondary School Karu won the toss and elected to bat first scoring a total of 54 runs for the loss of 2 wickets in 4 overs.

In the second innings, GSS Karu were untidy in their bowling by gifting away 28 runs in the first over. Eventually Government College Pykasa Maitama successfully chased down the total to record 55 runs for the loss of 2 wicket in 3.3 overs

Government College Pykasa won by 4 wickets and crowned champions.

The climax of the event was the presentation of certificate of participation to the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd placed schools and the tournament trophy to the winning schools respectively.


  1. Javino Model School, Suleja Niger State
  2. Government Secondary School Karu, Abuja
  3. Government Secondary School , Pykasa Abuja
  4. Government Secondary School Garki
  5. SOS Gwagwalada, Abuja
  6. Louisville International School, Gwagwalada, Abuja
  7. Government Girls Science Secondary School, Kuje Abuja
  8. Government Secondary School Tunduwada, Abuja



  1. Government Secondary School Pykasa, Abuja
  2. Government Secondary School Karu, Abuja
  3. Government Secondary School Garki, ABuja
  4. SOS Villages Gwagwalada
  5. Government Secondary School Tundunwada, Abuja
  6. Javino Model School, Suleja, Niger State


Special appreciation to the President and vice president for supporting this tournament and making it a success, worthy to mention that Biyi Adegbola, Chairman of ACUSN Abuja Chapter who donated the attires used by the umpires and for also making them available for the event, Mr Gbenga Ariyor who also provided photography for the event and last but not the least, Mr. Saad Siddiqi for his motivation to the winners of the tournament.

We also appreciate the coordinators, match officials, staff of the NCF Secretariat and volunteers that made the hosting of the championship possible.

Because we believed and trusted each other, we all emerged victorious, no matter if we went home with the trophy of not.