The Nigeria Cricket Federation is pleased to inform all and sundry that the National women’s team AKA ‘Female Yellow Greens’ will be participating at the 7th edition of the Kwibuka Women’s tournament in Rwanda. The Kwibuka tournament is a commemoration of the 1994 Genocide against The Tutsi people. Nigeria will participate in the tournament for the second time which sees as expansion of the teams involved as Germany and Brazil becomes the first countries to participate from outside the continent.

A final list of 14 players has been drafted for the tournament with long serving patriots of the Female Yellow Greens making the cut once again. Blessing Etim will lead the team as captain, supported by Favour Esiegbe as vice, Esther Sandy returns to the squad after falling short of in the Nigeria Women’s Invitational Tournament earlier this year in Lagos, Rukayat Abdulrasaq makes her debut for the country to complete the quartet from Kwara State. Batting prodigy Lucky Piety is unavailable due to studies which also provide the opportunity for another new entrant to the team in the person of Sarah Etim.

Complete List of 14 players;

1. Blessing Etim (C)
2. Favour Esiegbe (V.C)
3. Abigail Igbobie (W.K)
4. Kehinde Abdulquadri
5. Agatha Obulor
6. Esther Sandy
7. Salome Sunday
8. Omonye Asika
9. Rachael Samson
10. Rukayat Abdulrasaq
11. Miracle Imimole
12. Taiwo Abdulquadri
13. Lilian Udeh
14. Sarah Etim

Nigeria will open her encounter in the tournament against Brazil on the 9th of June 2022 at the Gahanga Cricket oval in the afternoon fixtures scheduled for 1:30 pm. Other countries participating in the tournament include Tanzania, Uganda, Kenya, Botswana, Germany, Brazil and host Rwanda.

The Female yellow Greens will depart the shores of the country on Tuesday 7th June 2022.