The 5-day-long 11th South East Cricket Championship for Chuma Anosike Cup ended on the 15th of April, 2022 at the Umuahia township stadium, Umuahia, Abia state with Ebonyi winning in the female category and Anambra in the male category.

In the finals of the female category between Anambra and Ebonyi, Anambra opted to field putting Ebonyi to bat. Ebonyi scored 103 runs for 6 in their allotted 15 overs. Ebonyi’s Igwe Purrissima scored 32 runs off 39 balls while Sylvia Odom was next with 22 off 32 balls.

Anambra’s response wasn’t as emphatic as they only made 64 runs for 4 in 15 overs in the second innings as Ebonyi won by 39 runs.

In the boys’ finals, Anambra opted to bat and scored 186 for 8 in their allotted 20 overs. Anambra’s Eghosa Aghedo Destiny scored 60 runs off 33 while his teammate, Okeke Damian Chijioke scored 31 off 32 balls.

Enugu’s spinner, Obinma Chisom, had a field day bowling 4 wickets in his 4 overs.

In the second innings, Enugu responded with 116 runs for 10 in 18.2 overs all out. Anambra won by a huge margin of 70 runs.

The final closing ceremony was graced by important dignitaries and big names in the game. Present were the NCF president, Mr. Uyi Akpata, the southeast zonal representative and NCF Board Member, Mr. Chika Okoro, the sponsor, Barrister Chuma Anosike, the host and Chairman of Abia State Cricket Association, Elder James Okwara, Chairman of Imo State Cricket Association, High Chief Tony Ajaelu, the General Manager of NCF, Mr. Emeka Igwilo, ICC Level 3 Coach, Mr. Olisa Egwuatu, Mr. Nosa Omoigui among other dignitaries.

The NCF president, Mr. Uyi Akpata could not hide his excitement and the level of talents on display. He lauded the developmental efforts in the South East being championed by South East Cricket Association (SECA). He also admired the structure being put in place for the administration and development of cricket in Southeast Nigeria.

The tournament saw young players with awesome cricketing skills prove their mettle in the middle.

Below is the list of players that won individual awards:

Tournament Link.



The batter of the Series: Happy Bagshaw (Imo State)

Bowler of the Series: Obinma Chisom (Enugu State)

Fielder of the Series: Eghosa Aghedo (Anambra state)

Wicket Keeper of the Series: Pascal Okoye (Enugu State)

Most Valuable Player (MVP): Udekwe Chiemelie (Anambra State)

Best Behaved Team: Ebonyi State


The batter of the Series: Miracle Nwigboji (Ebonyi State)

Bowler of the Series: Rebecca Mbam (Ebonyi State)

Fielder of the Series: Lilian Ude (Ebonyi State)

Wicket Keeper of the Series: Aluu Gold (Ebonyi State)

Most Valuable Player (MVP): Ihezuo Chhinemerem (Anambra State)

Best Behaved Team: Abia State.