The Nigeria Cricket Federation has announced a formidable 14-member squad that will be competing at the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier scheduled to take place from the 7th to 18th December 2023 in Uganda. The players have been through a series of training camps and are prepared for the task ahead. As part of the Federation’s overall interest in developing Women’s Cricket at all levels, a diverse blend of experienced and young talented players have been listed in the final squad.


  1. Esther Sandy
  2. Salome Sunday
  3. Blessing Etim (Captain)
  4. Victory Igbinedion
  5. Favour Eseigbe
  6. Christabel Chukwuonye
  7. Lucky Piety
  8. Adekunle Adeshola
  9. Lilian Udeh
  10. Racheal Samson
  11. Peculiar Agboya
  12. Rukayat Abdulrasaq
  13. Sarah Etim
  14. Abigail Igbobie

Blessing Etim will lead the squad once again, to be assisted by Favour Esiegbe with Victory Igbinedion and Chukwuonye making their debuts for the Female Yellow Greens. Nigeria will battle against Namibia, Rwanda, and Uganda in Group B’ where the top 2 teams will play in the semi-final.

Speaking with the Head Coach of the team Mr. Leke Oyede, he expressed optimism ahead of the tournament; “We have been working hard over the last couple of months to fine-tune our skills and work on the shortcomings from our last Kwibuka tournament in Rwanda. We understand that it is a very competitive tournament but we have put in the hard work and we believe we will be able to express ourselves during the games and show how much we have improved as a team, he said.’’

The team is set to depart the shores of the country on the 7th of December 2023 ahead of the opening match against Namibia on the 10th of December.